Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake, New York: A Photographic Study

June 22, 2024  •  Leave a Comment

The simply named Stone Arch Bridge is located in the small hamlet of Kenoza Lake, New York, near the junction of Route 52 and Route 52A. The bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, spans the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. 

 

The Stone Arch Bridge was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Philip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly the farming, timbering and tanning industries. The bridge replaced an earlier wooden bridge that collapsed under a load of hemlock bark that was on its way to a nearby tannery.

 

“The bridge is a solid masonry structure with an arched roadway supported by three arches made of hand-cut native stone. The arches and the ice breakers on the upstream side are built of mortared stone while the rest of the bridge is constructed of dry masonry. Formed concrete bases have been installed at the base of the arch supporters for stabilization purposes. Otherwise, the bridge is in its original condition . . . The construction technique incorporated the use of wooden forms to support the stones for the arches. Once all stones had been mortared and set, the forms were removed. This procedure eliminated the need for a specially cut keystone.”

 

The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as “a fine surviving example of vernacular bridge construction.”

 

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Stone Arch BridgeKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Stone Arch Bridge, Kenoza LakeKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Stone Arch Bridge, Kenoza Lake, New YorkKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Stone Arch Bridge, Kenoza Lake, NYKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

 

Philip Hembdt (1844-1917)

 

Philip Hembdt, one of the bridge builders, was born at Hueffelsheim, Germany on March 17, 1844. In 1864, at 20 years old, Hembdt immigrated to the United States. He worked as a carpenter for several years in New York City, after which he moved to the western United States for four years. Hembdt then moved back east to Beechwoods in Sullivan County, New York, where he operated a farm. While at Beechwoods, Hembdt married Emma Baum on September 20, 1868. Philip and Emma had ten children together.

 

Hembdt then moved to Kenoza Lake where he purchased the boarding house known as the Halfway House from Andrew Bietz, who had built the establishment and conducted it for 18 years. Hembdt owned and operated the Half Way House from 1876 to 1903. After selling the Half Way House in 1903 to Abe Feinberg, a photographer in New York City, Hembdt moved to Jeffersonville, where he lived his retired life.

 

Hembdt was an active member of the community. For nine years Hembdt served as the road commissioner for the Delaware township. He was an active member of the First Lutheran Church at Jeffersonville and served as president of the church for 17 years. He was a member of the Gustave Adolph Lodge, No. 274, of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.

 

Philip Hembdt passed away at 73 years of age at his home on April 2, 1917. He had suffered from heart trouble for about a year prior to his passing. Philip and his wife Emma are both buried at Jeffersonville Lutheran Cemetery in Jeffersonville, New York.

 

Henry Hembdt (1847-1920)

 

Henry Hembdt, one of the bridge builders, was born in Germany in 1847. In 1873, at the age of 26, Henry immigrated to the United States. In 1875 Henry was married to Margaret Gottschalk. Henry and Margaret had six children together.

 

Henry was a highly skilled mason. In addition to building the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake, Henry also constructed the stone bridge at Hortonville. For many years he operated a farm at Fremont until about 1916, when he moved to Hortonville on account of his failing health. He remained at Hortonville for his retired years until his passing. Henry was a charter member of the Gustave Adolph Lodge, No. 274, of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.

 

Henry Hembdt passed away at 73 years of age at his home on December 9, 1920. Funeral services were held at the Hortonville Church, officiated by Reverend Charles Nietzer. He is buried at Hortonville Cemetery in Hortonville, New York.

 

Kenoza Lake

 

Kenoza Lake is located in the town of Delaware in Sullivan County, New York. The small hamlet is situated on the lake of the same name, about 4 miles south from the hamlet of Jeffersonville.

 

In 1873, around the time the stone arch bridge was built, the small hamlet consisted of one church, one store, one tannery, one grist mill, one wagon shop, one blacksmith shop, one shoe shop, two saw mills, one hotel, twenty-five dwellings and about 125 inhabitants. The tannery was owned by Gideon Wales, and employed thirty men.

 

As for the natural environment in 1873, “much of the surface is still covered with forests, especially the margin of Delaware [township]. But these are gradually disappearing as new accensions to its population are made. The soil is mostly a gravelly loam, and best adapted to pasturage. Lumbering and tanning form the leading branches of the industry.”

 

Kenoza Lake was previously known as Pike Pond, “from the abundance of pike which its waters contained at an early day, and which the early settlers were wont to substitute for pork, when the latter article in their larder became exhausted.” The name was changed from Pike Pond to Kenoza lake in 1890 in honor of John Greenleaf Whittier’s poem title Kenoza Lake. It was hoped that the change in name would increase the summer tourism trade, which at the time was a growing industry in Sullivan County.

 

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza LakeKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake, New YorkKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Stone Arch Bridge, Kenoza Lake, NYKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Picnic at the Stone Arch Bridge, Kenoza LakeKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Reflection at the Stone Arch Bridge, Kenoza LakeKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Autumn Reflection, Stone Arch Bridge, Kenoza LakeKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Seeing Through at the Stone Arch Bridge, Kenoza LakeKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.SolidKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.RIP Hembdt BrothersKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.

Photograph of the Stone Arch Bridge at Kenoza Lake in Sullivan County, New York.Built by Henry and Philip HembdtKenoza Lake, Sullivan County

The Stone Arch Bridge, one of the most recognizable sites in Sullivan County, was constructed circa 1873 by Henry and Phillip Hembdt, brothers and recent German immigrants, in order to support the growing commercial needs of the county, particularly farming, timbering and tanning. The three arch bridge crosses the East Branch Callicoon Creek, a major tributary of the Delaware River. The bridge remained open to vehicular traffic until 1955, after which it has since been open to pedestrian traffic only. Today, the bridge serves as the focal point of a 20-acre county park that features a woodland walk, fishing rights, and a kid’s playground. The historic bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.

The Stone Arch Bridge is locally famous for its role in one of the most prominent murder cases in Catskills history. In January 1892 George Markert was brutally murdered at the bridge by Joseph Heidt.

Adam Heidt, Joseph’s father, believed that Markert was a “hexenmeister,” or sorcerer, who possessed supernatural powers, and that he practiced the “black art” of witchcraft. Both Adam and Joseph believed that Markert had placed a hex on Adam Heidt and his family which had led to personal illness, prevented their cows from giving cream, the death of several their cattle, the death of a horse, killed their crops and frustrated business plans. The Heidts also believed that Markert’s hex had led to the death of several family members.

Joseph confessed to the crime, but defended himself by claiming self-defense. He testified that he only went to the bridge to have Markert lift the curse off his father. Joseph was convicted of the murder and spent 20 years in prison. Adam Heidt was acquitted, but was committed to an insane asylum the following year.


Comments

No comments posted.
Loading...

Subscribe
RSS
Archive
January February March April May June July August September October November (3) December (1)
January (1) February (2) March April May June (2) July August September October November (1) December (1)
January February March April May June (1) July August September October November December
January February March April May June (1) July August September October November December
January February March April May June July August September (2) October November December
January (2) February (1) March (2) April (4) May June July August September October November (3) December (3)
January February March April May June (1) July August September October November December
January (6) February (5) March (3) April May June July August September October November December