Fallsburg Falls, once known as Old Falls, is a series of charming cascades on the Neversink River. Much of the early industry in the town of Fallsburg centered around the falls as it provided the necessary waterpower for the mills. Thomas Lockwood, considered by county historians to be the father of Fallsburg, soon bought out many of the earliest businesses located at the falls and worked diligently to promote the area. The first tannery in the town, established in 1832 by Rufus Palen, was also located at the falls. Early in its history, it had been proposed that Lockwood Mills, in honor of Thomas Lockwood, would be a fitting name for the town. It was only after he declined the honor that residents settled on the Fallsburg name. Great views of the falls can be had been from the bridge over the Neversink River just south of the cascades, from the adjacent town park or you can scamper down one of the herd paths to the river shore for a closer look.